Saturday, 28 January 2023

Cycling News

Cycling Canada announces 2023 cyclocross world championship team

Cycling Canada announces 2023 cyclocross world championship team

On Thursday, Cycling Canada announced the squad who will head to Hoogerheide, the Netherlands for the CX world championships on Feb. 3-5.

A large Canadian contingent has been riding in many of the UCI World Cups, Superprestige races and other top 鈥榗ross events this winter, and they鈥檒l be hoping that the experience gained during this intensive period of competition will translate to success in the Netherlands.

Currently, Canada is currently leading the women鈥檚 junior Cyclo-cross nation Ranking, and junior Pan American champion and elite national champion Ava Holmgren and her sister Isabella Holmgren, fresh off a podium at the Zonhoven junior WC, will be big favourites for the world championship title.

Isabella Holmgren interview on her first Christmas 鈥榗ross experience

The remainder of the junior squad includes Madeleine Pollock and Geza Rodgers, as well Mika Comaniuk, Filipe Duarte, Cam McCallum and Ian Ackert.

Ackert will be aiming to best his eighth-place finish from the 2022 worlds, where he rode some of the fastest laps after an early mechanical. Representing Canada in the u-23 category are Christiane Bilodeau, Cody Scott and Evan Russell.

What we learned from cyclocross鈥檚 Kerstperiode

鈥淲e know that we have athletes capable of top results in Hoogerheide,鈥 National team coach Rob Holmgren said. 鈥淲e鈥檝e spent a lot of time across the pond this fall, battling it out in Europe. Every time they toe to the line, they learn and they gain experience. That experience is going to set them up for success in Hoogerheide, but also during their road season, their mountain bike season, their track season. We鈥檝e put in the hard work necessary to mix it up on the front and I know every Canadian is going to leave it all out there come race day.鈥

On the elite side, Maghalie Rochette will be looking to top her best result of the season, a strong fifth place at the Val di Sole World Cup. She will be joined by Sidney McGill, also had her best result at the snowy Val di Sole, finishing in eighth. Tyler Orschel and former national champion Michael van den Ham will be rounding up the team in the men鈥檚 elite category.

Team Canada

Junior women
Ava Holmgren 鈥 Orillia, ON
Isabella Holmgren 鈥 Orillia, ON
Madeleine Pollock 鈥 North Vancouver, BC
Geza Rodgers 鈥 Port Moody, BC

Junior men
Ian Ackert 鈥 Severn, ON
Mika Comaniuk 鈥 Lachine, QC
Filipe Duarte 鈥 Gatineau, QC
Cam McCallum 鈥 Langley, BC

u-23 women
Christiane Bilodeau 鈥 St. Albert,…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Canadian Cycling Magazine鈥