Cycling News

Jackson Goldstone is signed up to defend his Red Bull Hardline title in 2023

Jackson Goldstone youngest ever Red Bull Hardline winner

Red Bull Hardline is moving to a prime-time July date, instead of its usual post-season spot on the calendar, and the move looks like it has attracted some big names. And some more unexpected big names.

Among those scheduled to appear at DyFi bike park in July is Canada’s Jackson Goldstone. The Syndicate’s wunderkind is the reigning Hardline champion, having become the event’s youngest winner in 2022. It wasn’t a given that the young star would return to defend his crown as the event now overlaps with Canadian national championships and falls just weeks before 2023 UCI downhill world championships in Scotland. Hardline is notoriously difficult and not all riders are willing to risk injury mid-season at a non-World Cup or world championships event.

Jackson Goldstone flies to Hardline victory in 2022. Photo: Samantha Saskia Dugon / Red Bull Content Pool

There are also some big and surprising names on the rider list. That includes Josh “Ratboy” Bryceland, who would be appearing in his first race in years. Multi-time Red Bull Rampage winner Kyle Strait is also scheduled to drop into the Hardline course.

RELATED: Jackson Goldstone’s Red Bull Hardline winning run

It is a long and impressive list of current and former World Cup racers (and “freeracers”) that Red Bull has signed up for Hardline 2023. Notably absent are any female racers. Jess Blewitt made her debut as the first woman at the event last year. Neither she, nor any other woman, is currently scheduled to take the start.

Red Bull Hardline takes place from July 15-16, 2023 at the DyFi bike park in Wales.

Vincent Turpin making light work of Hardline’s huge road gap in 2022. Photo: Nathan Hughes / Red Bull Content Pool

2023 Red Bull Hardline: rider list

Kyle Strait
George Brannigan
Adam Brayton
Josh Bryceland
Rónán Dunne
Kade Edwards
Thomas Estaque
Craig Evans
Brendan Fairclough
Sam Gale
Thomas Genon
Laurie Greenland
Jackson Goldstone
Gee Atherton
Thibault Laly
Harry Molloy
Charlie Hatton
Sam Hockenhull
Matteo Iniguez
Gaetan Vige
Bernard Kerr
Josh Lowe
Brook Macdonald
Jim Monro
Florent Payet
Johny Salido
Kaos Seagrave
Joe Smith
Theo Erlangsen
Taylor Vernon

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Canadian Cycling Magazine…