Cycling News

Vuelta a Burgos: Oier Lazkano outpowers Santiago Buitrago to win stage 4

Cofidis' Spanish rider Ion Izaguirre Insausti cycles in a lone breakaway in the final ascent of the Col de la Croix Rosier during the 12th stage of the 110th edition of the Tour de France cycling race, 169 km between Roanne and Belleville-en-Beaujolais, in central-eastern France, on July 13, 2023. (Photo by Thomas SAMSON / AFP)

Oier Lazkano (Movistar) won stage 4 of the Vuelta a Burgos after he overpowered Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain Victorious) on the uphill finale in Pradoluengo. The Spanish champion was part of a nine-man move that escaped early in the stage and fought out the victory on the category 3 climb to the line.

Lazkano showed his strength by closing down a late attack from Joan Bou (Euskaltel-Euskadi). Buitrago was the only rider who could follow Lazkano’s acceleration, but he was unable to come around the strongman in the closing metres. Raul Garcia Pierna (Kern Pharma) took third place, three seconds behind Lazkano.

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at CyclingNews RSS Feed…